Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie here, New-ish to me 914
cliffordbb
post Feb 2 2010, 09:51 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 19,525

Hi there,
My name is Cliff and I'm located in Tulsa, OK.

Bought my 1976 914 in about August '09. The car is in great condition for having sat in a garage for around 15 years.
It starts up every time and until about December it drove perfectly. When I got the car, I did a valve adjustment, spark plugs, wires, distributor cap, rotor, and a couple of other misc. things. The interior is in decent condition and the only thing that really needs attention right now in there is the tach. It almost seems like it moves a little bit on startup, but not much after that. Any ideas/suggestions for that?

In December, I took it to a buddy's shop to install some drop link bushings and a few other things. On the way to the shop, I noticed that it would not shift into 1st or Reverse consistently and would require a lot of effort to put it into either gear. Once I got the car out of the bay and onto the road, it completely stopped going in to 1st. Would this just be shifter bushings that may have rotted out after so long?

Thanks in advance for any and all information. =)
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
socalnewbie
post Feb 2 2010, 11:03 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 19,870

hi Cliff, welcome to the madness. Have you gotten under the car and visually inspected the bushings in the linkage and going into the tunnel? im no expert but seems like a good place to start. was it shifting sloppy before this occured? im just trying to give you a starting point and im sure one of the yodas will give you some good info. also, have you tried doing an advanced search for this problem in previous threads? good luck, Dave

+Quote Post
cliffordbb
post Feb 3 2010, 05:41 PM
Post #3